If you want results, call us. If you want peace of mind, call us. If you want representation who understands the hardship that has been thrust upon you, call us.
According to state law, all employers who have at least one employee in California must offer workers’ compensation benefits. Until you experience an injury at work, you may not fully understand the workers’ compensation process or the requirements. At DiMarco | Araujo | Montevideo, we specialize in workers’ compensation cases in Riverside. Anytime you run into an obstacle with your workers’ compensation case in Riverside or the Inland Empire, contact our office for a free case evaluation.
Every workers’ compensation case begins with an injury report. Always file an accident report, even if you do not think you suffered a serious injury. Some injury symptoms do not arise until after the incident, and having the incident on record will help you obtain benefits later.
If you do not tell your employer about your injury, you may lose your right to file for workers’ compensation benefits. Give notice to your employer within 30 days of the incident or within 30 days of suffering from a work-related disability. If you do not meet the deadline, you may still qualify for benefits if your employer should have reasonably known about the injury during that time.
An employer must provide an injured worker with a workers’ compensation (DWC-1) claim form within a day of learning about an employee’s injury. While an injured employee does have a year to file a claim, we recommend starting the process as soon as possible. For even more information, please visit the Riverside District Office page on the California Department of Industrial Relations website.
You will qualify for workers’ compensation benefits as long as you are an employee and your injury or illness is work-related. Any activity that benefits your employer financially is typically considered work-related, regardless of where you are physically located at the time of the accident.
To successfully file a claim, an injured worker typically needs to demonstrate that the injury has affected your life or work. In other words, a small cut or a bruise that does not require medical treatment will not typically qualify you for benefits. However, there is some gray areas ineligibility, and every case is different. Reach out to one of our attorneys in Riverside for a free case evaluation if you have any questions regarding your specific situation.
Benefits are designed to help employees financially cover the costs associated with a workplace injury or illness. Specific benefits you may qualify for include:
You may need legal assistance during the workers’ compensation claim process. Employers, medical providers, and insurance companies do not always act ethically or appropriately after a workplace injury. If you have trouble getting your claim approved or are unclear about your rights, contact our office and speak with a qualified workers’ compensation attorney.
We routinely help injured workers by:
We want to meet you and help with whatever means we can. All initial case consultations are free and you will not incur any legal fees until we do our job and win your case. If you cannot make it to our office we will come to you. If you would like to learn more about workers’ compensation, visit our statistics and facts page to get started or you can call us seven days a week at (951) 977-7787.